Linux Degree Programs

Linux is an operating system for computers. You can find training programs in Linux or Linux/UNIX at the certificate and associate's degree levels. Get info on what you'd study in each of these programs. Review the requirements for earning certification through the Linux Professional Institute. Schools offering Computer Systems Administration degrees can also be found in these popular choices.

What Will I Learn in a Linux Certificate Program?

The certificate program is perfect for you if you are building on an existing computer science degree, if you are already a professional and want to update your skills or if you are just beginning your education and want to learn about Linux/Unix administration. Certificate programs last one year or less and may be available entirely online. Credits may transfer toward associate's degree in computer networking, information technology or a related field.

In these programs, you learn the basics to install and maintain UNIX/Linux servers along with e-mail and user accounts, remote sites and even related hardware. You may also learn administrative tasks related to security, networking and Web servers.

Key Certificate Program TopicsInstallation, maintenance, remote sites, security, networking
Key Associate's Program TopicsAdministration, website development, Linux operating systems, software programming, hardware installation
Certification Options4 levels exist: Entry level (Linux essentials), junior (LPIC-1), advanced (LPIC-2), and senior (LPIC-3)

What Will I Learn in a Linux Associate's Degree Program?

Associate's degree programs may be designed so that after you have completed general requirements, you study administration and programming basics and then focus on more specialized and advanced tasks. You study basic website development as well as CISCO networking, Linux operating systems, C++ programming, Windows operating systems and logic. Depending on the program, you may study shell programming, software programming and hardware installation. You can earn an Associate of Applied Science or Associate of Science in UNIX/Linux Administration or in Computer Technology with a Linux concentration. Programs typically last two years and are the highest formal education available devoted exclusively to Linux.

Is There Certification?

There are four levels at which you can receive Linux professional certification: entry level, (Linux essentials), junior (LPIC-1), advanced (LPIC-2) and senior (LPIC-3). In order to receive certification, you must complete at least two exams per level (LPIC-3 requires completion of three or more exams). In order to sit for the advanced- and senior-level tests, you must already hold certification at the prior level. The Linux Professional Institute provides particulars about sitting for each exam along with sample questions and fee requirements.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

  • 1. Degree Options:

Popular Schools

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. Next »