MCAD Courses and Credentials

A Microsoft Certified Applications Developer (MCAD) certification was offered by Microsoft for IT professionals, but the certification is no longer available. Read on to learn about alternatives to this certification and how to keep the certification if you already have it. Schools offering Computer Programming degrees can also be found in these popular choices.

What You Need to Know

Microsoft Certified Applications Developer (MCAD) certification is a credential held by information technology (IT) professionals. However, the MCAD certification is no longer available. Almost all of the tests needed to earn the MCAD designation have been retired as of October 31, 2010. Some elective exams open, so if you only need the elective exam to finish earning your MCAD certification, you may do so.

Those who currently hold the MCAD are still able to use it, as long as the related technology stays relevant in the marketplace. The MCAD shows employers that IT professionals are able to build applications by using Microsoft technology, such as Visual Studio and .NET Framework. Certification guarantees a level of competence in applications development.

Courses General courses like Microsoft Office and Windows Vista; some courses are based on a type of certification
Certificate Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certificates; Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) certification
Job Outlook 11% job growth for computer support specialists, from 2016-2026

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

What Are My Other Options?

Even though you can no longer earn an MCAD certification from the ground up, other options are available through Microsoft, depending on what you want to specialize in. The MCAD required applications to have 1-2 years of experience in information technology and application building. The Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) requires the same amount of experience.

As an MCTS, you'll know how to troubleshoot and debug specific Microsoft software and operating systems. Many different specialized MCTS are certifications available, and you must pass the corresponding exam to earn the certification. Some MCTS .NET Framework certifications require you to pass two exams. Like the MCAD certification, you can earn an MCTS certification in application development.

What Else Do I Need to Know?

If you have more experience working with Visual Studio and .NET Framework, you may consider earning a Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) certification. This certification requires you to have 2-3 years of experience. You must then choose a specialty, such as Visual Studio 2005, 2008 or 2010 or SharePoint 2010. You can choose from different certification paths within each specialization, and each requires you to pass one corresponding exam. It's important to know that Microsoft tends to discontinue various MCPD certifications when they stop offering mainstream support for the related software.

What Can I Expect from Microsoft Certification Courses?

Many colleges and universities offer courses in Microsoft certifications. These courses prepare you for the certification exams and are likely backed by the Microsoft IT Academy. Courses and training programs are available both online and onsite. You can expect to take general courses like Microsoft Office and Windows Vista. You'll then become more specialized and take courses based on the certification you hope to earn. An MCTS Associate in Applied Science degree might cover the following topics:

  • Programming
  • Fundamentals of Unix
  • Web authoring
  • HTML
  • SQL server database

How Do I Renew or Upgrade My MCAD Certification?

The MCAD certification itself never needs to be renewed. So if you've already earned it, there's no need for recertification. According to Microsoft, as long as there's a market for MCAD professionals, the designation will be valid.

You can also upgrade your certification if you have an MCAD. You can upgrade to a Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) or a Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD). Typically, upgrading from an MCAD to an MCTS or MCPD requires you to take and pass 1-3 exams, depending on your certification goal.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

  • 1. Degree Options:
The schools in the listing below are not free and may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. Tuition and costs will vary across programs and locations. Be sure to always request tuition information before starting a program.

Popular Schools

  • Colorado State University Global

    Colorado State University Global responds quickly to information requests through this website.

    Popular programs at Colorado State University Global:

    • Certificates

    Online Programs Available

  • Walla Walla Community College

    Campus Locations:

    • Washington: Walla Walla
  • Valencia College

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Orlando
  • St Petersburg College

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Clearwater
  • Seminole State College of Florida

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Sanford
  • Sarasota County Technical Institute

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Sarasota
  • Santa Fe College

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Gainesville
  • Saint Johns River State College

    Campus Locations:

    • Florida: Palatka
  • Yavapai College

    Campus Locations:

    • Arizona: Prescott
  • Richland Community College

    Campus Locations:

    • Illinois: Decatur