What Is MCDBA?

MCDBA is an acronym for Microsoft Certified Database Administrator. Information technology professionals with MCDBA certification can help organizations and businesses with the administration, implementation and design of Microsoft SQL Server 2000 databases. Schools offering Database Administration degrees can also be found in these popular choices.

MCDBA Overview

The Microsoft Certified Database Administrator training program and certification was designed specifically for information technology professionals playing key roles in the design, administration and implementation of Microsoft SQL Server 2000 databases. The MCDBA certification was distinct from the MCTS and MCITP programs, which covered Microsoft SQL Server 2005. Microsoft recommended one year of database administration experience prior to attempting MCDBA certification.

Microsoft retired this certification in September 2012; however, those who earned it before that time period can still claim it among their credentials. It was supplanted by the Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE): Data Platform and MCSE: Business Intelligence Certifications.

Important Facts About This Field of Study

Common Courses Installing server operating systems, administering a Microsoft SQL server database, computer programming
Online Availability Hybrid and online program available
Prerequisites Basic database skills, understanding of networking and logic structures
Possible Careers Database administrator, database administration manager, computer programmer
Median Salary (2018)* $90,070 (for all database administrators)
Job Outlook (2016-2026)* 11% growth (for all database administrators)

Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

MCDBA Exam Requirements

In order to obtain MCDBA certification, information technology professionals had to pass three core exams and one elective exam. Microsoft began discontinuing some of the MCDBA exams in March 2009, but IT professionals who took the exams while they were still offered could count them toward the MCDBA certification. The core exams covered SQL Server Administration, SQL Server Design and Networking Systems.

  • SQL Server Administration: IT professionals could fulfill the SQL Server Administration exam requirement with Installing, Configuring and Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Enterprise Edition. The Administering Microsoft SQL Server 7.0 exam was discontinued in March 2009.
  • SQL Server Design: Designing and Implementing databases with Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Enterprise Edition is the only remaining exam to fulfill the server design requirement. The Designing and Implementing Databases with Microsoft SQL Server 7.0 has been retired, but is still valid for IT professionals who have already taken it.
  • Networking Systems: The three exams options for this subject area were Managing and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Environment; Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Network Infrastructure; and Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows 2000 Server.
  • Elective Exams: One elective exam was required in order to obtain MCDBA certification. There were 15 elective exams to choose from, covering design, development and implementation. Information technology professionals were encouraged to complete an exam that broadened their knowledge of a particular information technology area.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

  • 1. Degree Options:
The schools in the listing below are not free and may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. Tuition and costs will vary across programs and locations. Be sure to always request tuition information before starting a program.

Popular Schools

  • Colorado State University Global

    Colorado State University Global responds quickly to information requests through this website.

    Popular programs at Colorado State University Global:

    • Certificates

    Online Programs Available

  • University of Louisville

    Campus Locations:

    • Kentucky: Louisville
  • Ferris State University

    Campus Locations:

    • Michigan: Big Rapids
  • Minnesota State University

    Campus Locations:

    • Minnesota: Mankato
  • Wiregrass Georgia Technical College

    Campus Locations:

    • Georgia: Valdosta
  • University of Rio Grande

    Campus Locations:

    • Ohio: Rio Grande
  • University of Nebraska at Omaha

    Campus Locations:

    • Nebraska: Omaha
  • University of Akron Main Campus

    Campus Locations:

    • Ohio: Akron
  • Towson University

    Campus Locations:

    • Maryland: Towson
  • Southwestern Illinois College

    Campus Locations:

    • Illinois: Belleville