Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. x
Penn Foster High School responds quickly to information requests through this website.

Penn Foster High School

High School Diploma
Penn Foster High School responds quickly to information requests through this website.

Become a High School Teacher in Utah

In Utah, high school teachers can choose from a variety of certification areas. The licensure process includes obtaining a bachelor's degree and passing a Praxis content area test.

Utah High School Teacher Licensing Overview

Secondary education licensure covers grades sixth through twelfth in the state of Utah. Prospective teachers can familiarize themselves with how they can become certified as a high school teacher. The table below provides a quick overview of the profession.

Required DegreeBachelor's degree
Required Degree FieldEducation
Required TestPraxis Test for subject area
License Renewal3 years for Level 1 licenses
License Renewal RequirementsCompletion of Entry Years Enhancement program for Level 1 licenses
Average Salary for Secondary School Teachers in Utah (2018)*$59,070
Job Outlook for High School Teachers (2016-2026)*8% (Nationwide)

Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)

Educational Route to Obtaining High School Teacher Certification

The traditional route for achieving teacher certification is to graduate with a bachelor's degree from an approved education program within the state of Utah. Upon earning a bachelor's degree, candidates will need to receive a recommendation from their program and ensure it is posted to the Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS).

Educator Licensing Online Requirements

The certification process in Utah includes fulfilling requirements through the state's Educator Licensing Online site. The first is to complete a Utah Educator Ethics Review within one year of receiving a CACTUS recommendation. The second requirement is to receive a clear Utah State Board of Education Fingerprint Background Check that was conducted after July 1, 2015.

Testing Requirements

The state of Utah mandates that candidates must pass a Praxis test in order to become certified in a Secondary Education (6-12) Licensure Area. Candidates will need to take the Praxis test for their desired area of certification. Areas of secondary licensure include math, music, French, social studies, and biological science. It should be noted that some areas of licensure, such as agriculture, business, and family consumer sciences, may be achieved without taking a Praxis test if candidates meet specific requirements. The Utah State Board of Education's website provides a comprehensive listing of all the available licensure areas, along with the required passing scores.

Level 1 Teaching License

Teachers will receive a Level 1 teaching license upon meeting the above requirements. This license is valid for three years. During this time, Utah requires all teachers to participate in the Entry Years Enhancement (E.Y.E) program, which involves meeting standards with the help of professional mentors. If all standards are met, teachers will be eligible to receive a Level 2 teaching license through their employing local education agency (LEA). Otherwise, the LEA can petition for a one-year extension. Teachers with Level 1 licenses can complete 25 license renewal points during each work year, with a maximum of 50 points during the lifetime of their license.

Additional Utah Teaching Licenses

Once earned, Level 2 teaching licenses are good for five years, while a Level 3 teaching license is good for seven years. Each license requires the completion of professional learning activities as part of the renewal process. Teachers with Level 2 and 3 licenses can complete 35 license renewal points during each work year, with a maximum of 105 points during the lifetime of their license.