Become a Private School Teacher in Oklahoma
This article guides you on how to become a private school teacher in Oklahoma. It enlists the educational qualifications for the role, the tests that have to be passed, and other requirements.
Private School Teacher in Oklahoma: An Overview
To become a private school teacher in Oklahoma, you must possess a certification or license from the State Department of Education in Oklahoma. To obtain this license, you have to meet the educational qualifications set by the department and pass some examinations that test your knowledge and skills to become an educator. Read on to understand the steps to become a private school teacher in Oklahoma in detail.
|Education Required||Bachelor's degree, Teacher Education Program|
|Exams Required|| The Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET) |
The Oklahoma Subject Area Test(s) (OSAT)
The Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
|License Validity Period||5 years|
|Mean Salary for Oklahoma Teachers (2018)||$40,120 (Kindergarten), $40,450 (Elementary School), $41,660 (Middle School) $42,540 (High School)|
|Estimated Job Growth (2018-2028, Nationwide)||3% (Kindergarten and Elementary), 3% (Middle School), 4% (High School)|
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Meet the Education Requirements
The first step to becoming a private school teacher is to get an undergraduate degree in any subject of your choice from an accredited institution. The next step is to pass an approved teacher education program, which gives you the necessary experience in teaching. To save your time, you can opt for institutions that offer teacher education programs along with the bachelor's degree programs. In case your teacher education program was in another state, you will have to fill out a special application form for obtaining the license in Oklahoma and pass the examinations required by the state.
Pass the Necessary Examinations
The State Department of Education in Oklahoma requires you to pass the following exams to be eligible for certification:
- The Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)
- The Oklahoma Subject Area Test(s) (OSAT)
- The Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
The OGET exam checks your reading, writing, and mathematical skills; it consists of 100 multiple choice questions and one writing question to be finished within four hours.
The OSAT consists of tests in multitudes of subjects, and you can select the subject in which you want to be endorsed; the number and types of questions depend on the subject.
The OPTE exam consists of two separate level exams for grades PK-8 and grades 6-12; both of these include 75 multiple choice questions and three writing questions related to learners, learning, teaching practice, and classroom environment.
Get a Background Check
A background check is mandatory before you obtain a teaching certificate, and for this, your fingerprints have to be submitted. You can take the fingerprints either electronically at the Oklahoma State Department of Education or at satellite sites set up by the department across the state. You can also scan and submit fingerprint cards on your own. After this, the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will run a background check.
Apply for Teacher Certification
The final step to becoming a private teacher in Oklahoma is to apply for teaching certification. You can download the application form from the State Department of Education website and mail it to the department along with other documents like official transcripts, score reports, and background checks application forms. The application processing fee is $50. You can also apply for the certification online after registering at their website.
Renew Your Certificate
The validity period of the teacher certificate is five years, after which it has to be renewed. For this, you can either send an application form to the Department of Education or apply online. The application fee for a renewal is $50.