Mississippi Teacher Certification: Levels & Requirements
In the state of Mississippi, prospective educators can earn the standard teaching license by earning a degree and passing the assessments required by the Mississippi Department of Education.
How to Become a Licensed Teacher in Mississippi
The Mississippi Department offers four different classes of the traditional standard license. For each of these licenses, the candidate would need to complete an approved teacher education program and pass the relevant Praxis assessments. The general requirements for the first class of a license are summarized in the table below.
|Education/Experience Required||Bachelor's degree (minimum)|
|Exam Requirements|| ACT OR |
|Certification Renewal Period||Five years|
|Requirements for Renewal|| 15 CEUS OR |
9 Semester hours OR
Completion of NBPTS
|Median Salary (2018)||$27,940 (preschool teachers in MS) |
$43,110 (kindergarten teachers in MS)
$43,860 (elementary teachers in MS)
$46,370 (middle school teachers in MS)
$47,190 (high school teachers in MS)*
|Estimated Job Growth (2016-2026)|| 10% (preschool teachers nationally) |
7% (kindergarten and elementary school teachers nationally)
8% (middle and high school teachers nationally)*
Sources: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
General Academic Requirements for the License Classes
There are four classes of teaching licenses that are available through the traditional route. To get a Class A license, the candidate would need a bachelor's degree in an approved teacher education program while a class AA license requires a master's degree. A Class AAA license requires a specialist degree in the teaching subject area and the Class AAAA license requires a doctorate degree. All license classes subsequent to the Class A license need additional degrees in addition to a bachelor's in an approved teacher education program.
In Mississippi, prospective educators must pass either the ACT assessment which has multiple choice questions in the areas of English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science or the Praxis Core tests which cover the areas of Reading, Writing and Mathematics. General educators must also pass the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) relevant to the grade level they would like to teach. If the educator wishes to pursue a specific teaching area such as elementary education or music, they must also take the Praxis assessment relevant to that area.
Prospective educators may complete their application for licensure through the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS) online portal that is available on the Mississippi Department of Education website. If the application is done online, the candidate must still submit their official transcripts and test scores by mail to the Mississippi Department of Education. Alternatively, the candidate's educational institutions can submit the official transcripts using eScripSafe. If the candidate took the Praxis exams in Mississippi, the results will be automatically sent to the Mississippi Department of Education.
The standard teaching license (Class A) is valid for five years and you can renew this license by completing 15 continuing education units (CEUs) in an area related to the teaching license or by completing nine semester hours in an area related to the teaching license or completion of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) process. Class AA, AAA and AAAA licenses can be renewed if the educator completes five continuing education units (CEUs) in an area related to the teaching license or three semester hours in an area related to the teaching license or completion of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) process.