Virginia Teaching License Requirements
In order to obtain educator licensure in Virginia, prospective educators must meet the academic achievement and professional assessments required by the Virginia Department of Education.
How to Become a Licensed Teacher in Virginia
In the state of Virginia, persons who are interested in earning a teaching license can do so through the traditional route of completing a Virginia Department of Education approved educator program and passing the necessary teacher's assessments. This qualifies the candidate for a Collegiate Professional License. The requirements for this license are summarized in the table below.
|Education/Experience Required||Bachelor's degree|
|Exam Requirements|| Praxis |
|Certification Renewal Period||Five years|
|Requirements for Renewal|| 180 professional development points |
Completion of approved training exercises
|Mean Salary (2018)||$37,880 (preschool teachers in VA) |
$65,550 (kindergarten teachers in VA)
$67,610 (elementary teachers in VA)
$66,870 (middle school teachers in VA)
$68,770 (high school teachers in VA)*
|Estimated Job Growth (2016-2026)|| 10% (preschool teachers nationally) |
7% (kindergarten and elementary school teachers nationally)
8% (middle and high school teachers nationally)*
Sources: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
General Academic Requirements
To qualify the Collegiate Professional License, the applicant must complete at least a bachelor's degree in an approved educator preparation program. This degree must be specific to the subject area the applicant is interested in and be earned from an accredited college or university. A list of approved providers of educator preparation programs can be found on the Virginia Board of Education website.
Professional Teacher's Assessment Requirements
The prospective educator will be required to complete the Praxis Core Academic Skills Assessments when starting the educator preparation program and then the Praxis subject-specific content assessments required for the candidate's area of licensure. Passing the Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment (VCLA) is also required for everyone seeking initial licensure. Prospective educators seeking licensure in certain areas such as Early/Primary Education (PK-3), Elementary Education (PK-6) and Special Education-General Curriculum are required to pass the Praxis Series Reading for Virginia Educators (RVE). If the Praxis tests are taken in Virginia, the results should be sent to the Virginia Department of Education automatically.
Additional Training Requirements
Applicants for initial licensure must also complete training in the following areas:
- Child Abuse and Neglect Recognition and Intervention - an online course provided by the Virginia Department of Social Services
- Instructional Methods - geared at guiding educators in preparing assessments
- Emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and use of automated external defibrillators - this training must be based on current standards, include hands-on training and be offered by approved providers
- Dyslexia Awareness - an online course provided by the Virginia Department of Education
Candidates must ensure they receive the certificate of completion from each course as these will be required as verification of training during the application process.
If the prospective educator has not yet found employment, the completed application form must be submitted by the candidate's college or university. Applications must be submitted in one single packet which contains the application form, a check or money order for the $100 application fee, the college verification form (part of the application form), the candidate's assessment scores, official transcripts as well as completion certificates from the additional training requirements. The application form can be downloaded from the Virginia Department of Education website.
The Collegiate Professional License is valid for five years and can be renewed once the educator completes 180 professional development points. Points can be earned through approved activities such as conferences, mentorship, book publication, educational projects, article publication, professional development courses, curriculum development, and college credit. To renew the license the educator must also take the training courses on Child Abuse Recognition and Dyslexia again.