Online IV Certification

IV certification programs train licensed vocational and practical nurses in IV administration. Learn about online and on-campus course options, program prerequisites and professional certification requirements. Schools offering Clinical Laboratory Science degrees can also be found in these popular choices.

Who Needs IV Certification?

Any healthcare provider who administers IV therapy needs to be IV certified. These programs may be geared towards licensed vocational nurses (LVNs) and licensed practical nurses (LPNs) that do not already have certification. Registered nurses (RNs) usually receive IV certification as part of their training. You must have CPR certification and be a nurse or other healthcare provider to enroll in a program, though you may be admitted with a provisional nursing license.

Prerequisites CPR certification with a job as a healthcare provider or nurse; most programs are intended for LVNs and LPNs without certification
Online Availability Partially online programs are available
Skills Learned Blood transfusion therapy, antibiotics therapy, IV insertion, anatomy and physiology, phlebotomy
Certification Options CRNI and NFLPN certifications are available
Median Salary (2018) $71,730 (for all registered nurses)*
Job Outlook (2018-2028) 12% growth (for all registered nurses)*

Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Is Online Training Available?

Because of the first-hand training component, online academic programs that prepare students for IV certification usually combine online and on-campus coursework. These hybrid programs typically offer certificates and can prepare you for IV certification exams administered by state nursing boards or independent organizations.

What Will I Learn?

In an on-campus or online course preparing you for IV certification, you learn techniques for administration and maintenance of IV catheters, IV therapy and pumps. Common topics covered in these courses include:

  • Insertion of peripheral IV lines
  • IV therapy line maintenance
  • Anatomy & physiology
  • Blood transfusion therapy
  • Phlebotomy essentials
  • Pharmacological issues pertaining to IV therapy
  • Antibiotic therapy

What Types of IV Certifications Are Available?

IV certification is often administered through a state's board of nursing and requires completion of a state-approved course. Voluntary certification is offered by several independent organizations.

One widely accepted certification is the Certified Registered Nurse in Infusion (CRNI) credential administered by the Infusion Nurses Certification Corporation (INCC). The INCC offers a three-hour proctored exam covering nine topics at test sites nationwide. Certification requirements include an RN license and at least 1,600 hours of IV therapy experience within the last two years.

The National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses (NFLPN) also offers certification in IV therapy. Before sitting for the NFLPN's proctored exam, you must be an LPN and have completed an IV therapy training program.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

  • 1. Degree Options:
The schools in the listing below are not free and may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. Tuition and costs will vary across programs and locations. Be sure to always request tuition information before starting a program.

Popular Schools