Colleges that Accept the GED

Students may choose to earn a GED instead of following the traditional educational route. Learn about the different schools that accept the GED and other important information in the following article.

The GED is used to show that a person has the knowledge that a high school student should have at the time of graduation. After earning a GED, students can apply to a number of different two-year or four-year colleges in the United States.

What Exactly Is the GED and How Do I Earn One?

The GED is a type of certification that can be earned by adults, and it is considered to be equivalent to earning a high school diploma. GED stands for General Educational Development, and this certification is earned by passing the GED Test. This test covers four different broad topics including science, social studies, mathematical reasoning, and language arts. The test is given by the GED Testing Service of the American Council on Education, and students must pre-register prior to taking the test.

What Two-Year Schools Accept the GED?

There are many different two-year schools that accept the GED, typically technical schools or community colleges. Just a few of the schools in the country that accept the GED include:

  • Texas State Technical College
  • City College of Chicago
  • San Diego Community College
  • Lawson State Community College
  • Richmond Community College

What Else Should I Know About Two-Year Schools Accepting the GED?

Students who want to enter into a two-year college must typically be at least 16 years of age, and those between the ages of 16 and 18 may need the recommendation of a school principal to be considered for acceptance. These schools typically require all students to take placement tests to determine what level of coursework they should be taking. Students who have taken the ACT or SAT can submit their scores to the school, and if scores are high enough the institution may choose to exempt the student from the placement testing. Men that are between the ages of 18 and 26 could need to also provide proof of their selective service registration.

What Four-Year Schools Accept the GED?

Those who have completed the GED test and received satisfactory scores can choose to attend a variety of different four-year schools in the United States. Just a few of the four-year schools that accept the GED include:

  • Iowa State University
  • Arkansas State University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Utah
  • University of Michigan

What Are Other Requirements I Should Expect Four-Year Schools Accepting the GED to Have?

In addition to having earned their GED, students will need to have a minimum score of 170 on their GED test. Their official scores will need to be sent to each school that they plan on applying to. Scores from either the SAT or ACT exam are also required, and these tests must be taken within the five years prior to the applicant applying to the college or university. A composite score of 20 or higher on the ACT is needed for admission, or a combined score of 990 on the SAT. Depending on the college, students may need to pay an application fee.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

The schools in the listing below are not free and may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. Tuition and costs will vary across programs and locations. Be sure to always request tuition information before starting a program.

Popular Schools