MDS Coordinator Certification and Training: Online Programs

Training to become certified as a Minimum Data Set (MDS) coordinator could lead to ensuring the accurate retention of records in compliance with federal guidelines. Get information about courses and program options. Schools offering Medical Assisting degrees can also be found in these popular choices.

How Can I Become Certified as an MDS Coordinator?

It is not legally required that you earn certification to work as an MDS coordinator; however, in many cases, earning certification can significantly enhance your employment opportunities. You can become certified as an MDS Resident Assessment Coordinator (RAC-CT) through the American Association of Nurse Assessment Coordinators. Certification is possible through online courses, book-based study, live workshops or a combination of these options.

Outside of this certification, other organizations offer MDS training. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services makes some training materials available online, among other sources. Studying these materials does not lead to certification, but you can learn about the latest MDS software and how to incorporate it into your profession.

Certification Information Certification is not necessary but can improve employability
Prerequisites Must be a licensed nurse to apply for certification
Course Information Applicants must take ten courses (seven core and three elective) to earn certification through AANAC
Online Availability Certification can be earned completely or partially online
Median Salary (2018) $71,730 (for all registered nurses)*
Job Outlook (2018-2028) 12% growth (for all registered nurses)*

Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Are There Any Prerequisites?

You'll need to be a licensed nurse prior to earning your MDS certification. To become licensed, you must graduate from an approved educational program and subsequently pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) offered by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. There are several versions of the NCLEX, depending upon your area of specialization. These include exams for the registered nurse (RN) and licensed practical nurse (LPN).

What Courses Will I Take?

To earn certification through AANAC, you'll need to take a total of ten courses. These include seven core courses and three electives. Your core courses include topics such as coding for the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1987, timing requirements for the Skilled Nursing Facility Prospective Payment System (SNFPPS) and Medicare Part A. Possible elective courses cover precisely assessing functional status and accurate pain assessment.

How Is This Training Presented Online?

You can take MDS training courses entirely or partially online. Online training is offered in several formats, including fully online courses through which you watch lectures and complete exams at your own pace. In other cases, you can participate in live webcasts as part of your training. Many organizations offer books, documents and videos that can be downloaded for review at your convenience.

To continue researching, browse degree options below for course curriculum, prerequisites and financial aid information. Or, learn more about the subject by reading the related articles below:

  • 1. Degree Options:
The schools in the listing below are not free and may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users. Tuition and costs will vary across programs and locations. Be sure to always request tuition information before starting a program.

Popular Schools