How to Be an Art Teacher in Texas: Certification & Requirements
In Texas, art teachers receive endorsement for every grade from kindergarten all the way through high school. Find out how you can obtain your certification to teach art in the Lone Star State, including testing requirements and what kind of salary you can expect.
Information for Texas Art Teachers
Art teachers in Texas have the responsibility of presenting art projects and ideas to students at many grade levels. You might end up teaching the subject to younger students or find a position in high school, inspiring future art majors. Like other states, Texas has a specific standardized test requirement for aspiring educators.
|Education/Experience Required||Bachelor's degree in education, approved teacher education preparation program|
|Exams Required||TExES Art EC-12|
|License Validity Period||Five years|
|Renewal Requirements||150 continuing education credits|
|Average Salary in Texas (2018)*||$56,580 for kindergarten teachers, $56,520 for elementary school teachers, $56,580 for middle school teachers, and $58,190 for high school teachers|
|Estimated Job Growth (2016-2026)*||7-8% for all teachers nationwide|
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Art teachers instruct students at different grade levels in various forms of visual art. A day in your classroom might include painting, sculpting, drawing, or modeling. You'll establish objectives for each student and ensure that their learning needs are met throughout the year. You'll pay close attention to each student's progress in each form of media and give assistance when a student asks for help.
Education and Training Requirements
All teachers in the state of Texas must earn a bachelor's degree in education before they get their teaching credentials. As a future art teacher, you can major in visual art studies, resulting in a Bachelor of Fine Arts. This gives you everything you need to teach art to elementary through high school levels in Texas, including the necessary teacher education program. Your time studying visual art will include student teaching, art history, and your chosen electives. Some of the topics covered in an art education program can include courses in criticism and conversation, medieval art, and teaching practices at your appropriate grade level.
Texas uses Pearson to administer the TExES certification exam for all future educators in the state. As an art teacher, you will take the Art EC-12 exam. The test lasts for five hours, including 15 minutes needed for a tutorial and agreement. You'll need to pay a fee of $116. A total of 100 questions are on the exam, all of which come in multiple choice format. The passing score for the Art exam is 240. After you take the test, you'll find your score available after 10 PM Central anywhere from two to five days later.
Once education and testing requirements are satisfied, candidates should verify that they are eligible for application. Then they can apply for Texas's initial teaching certification. Candidates must also undergo a background check and submit fingerprints.
After obtaining your initial teaching license, you will have your credentials for five years. During this period, you are obligated to earn at least 150 continuing professional education hours. You'll need to submit your renewal application no less than six months before the expiration of your current certificate. If you submit your renewal application on time, the fee is $22; a $10 fee applies if you are between one day and six months late, and a $20 fee will be charged for any later applications. You can earn your continuing hours from any number of different accredited teaching institutions, including Texas public schools districts and private schools which are authorized by the Texas Private School Accreditation Commission.